Theme for a Dream

I whispered once on a lonely isle,
That my dreams were few – to swim freestyle.
To know the sea and the fish that swim,
To know them deep and to know their whim.

Not afraid of dangers of such a dream,
I raised my murmurings to a scream
And taking pride in my new-found voice
I jumped in the sea in a swimmers disguise.

You weren’t fooled nor amused by me –
As I tried to fathom deep I was tossed in the sea
And on the rough ride of the tides this important lesson I learnt
That fish electric and charming can leave your fingers burnt!

I’ve retreated again to my lonely isle
For a while I need respite from your scares
You still remain my theme for a dream
Though now you daily cause nightmares.

Leave a Reply

