I’ve Come Again You Stony Rock

I’ve Come Again You Stony Rock,
To crush my head against your docks,
And change from furious, mighty tide
To water sprinkling from your locks!
For there Unfazed, Uncut, Unshaped,
Your frozen heights with silence mocks,
And makes me rush to get your head,
Only to fall and wet your socks!

I’ve Come Again You Stony Rock,
To peel the harsh skin off your back,
And change from fuming, erosive tide
To shells and sediments in your cracks!
I’ve Come Again You Stony Rock,
To shape you further is my job,
I surge ahead with a rowdy roar,
Will I recede with a sorry sob?

Will snubbed, repulsed, unable to pierce
I’ll once more beat a hasty retreat
And humbled by your cruel pride
Bend backwards and admit defeat?
Or will I rise as time demands
And make your corners smooth and round
And slowly with my watery might
Make you a part of Sandy ground!

I’ve Come Again You Stony Rock,
To touch you, cut you, shake a bit;
And over the years to make you my part
And carry with my waves as clayey silt!

Leave a Reply

