How Do You Hurt Me

How do you hurt me?
Let me count the ways.
You hurt me with your silence,
With your poise, your averted gaze.
With the despair you arouse;
With the ghosts I chase,
You hurt me with your long nights,
With your short and listless days.

You hurt me with the childish innocence,
That I cherish in my heart;
With your images – fake and real,
From which I create my past.
With your tainted reflections,
Which got distorted through my works of art;
With the misery of not knowing all,
But only a limited part.

You hurt me with your guarded dreams –
That leaves you vulnerable to dream-sellers like me;
You hurt me with your silent suffering-
It cuts me deep that you think I can’t see.
You hurt me with your refusal to be a doll,
With your smartness, your survival instincts,
You hurt me where it shouldn’t hurt –
Are you sure you do it without any kinks?

You hurt me ’cause you make me play God
And make me fiddle with you like a guinea pig,
And your understanding & compassionate smile drives home the point
That how small I am and you how big.

Leave a Reply

