How Do I Hurt Thee?

How do I hurt thee?
Let me count the ways.
I hurt thee with my sonnets,
My songs, my praise.
With the passions I arouse;
With the hopes I raise,
I hurt thee with my games,
With my childish plays.

I hurt thee with the zeal
Of a missionary who is set to reform;
With the passion of a poet
As he struggles with the given form.
With the tender hands of a musician
As he stretches the chord tight;
With the curse of a crusader
Who is doomed to incessantly fight.

I hurt thee with my lost angels
That I try to resurrect in my dreams;
I hurt thee with my anguished (he)art –
In the middle, in the depths, in the seams.
I hurt thee with my flashes of lightening,
With my cunning, my apparent vile,
I hurt thee where it hurts most –
Can you believe it’s without guile?

I hurt thee consciously
And it hurts me you see
For why else should I care to hurt,
If I wasn’t in love with thee?

Leave a Reply

